For members


MAP: Which countries are on France’s ‘green list’ for travel?

France is operating a traffic light system for travel - dividing countries into red, orange and green zones. This is how that affects travel.

MAP: Which countries are on France's 'green list' for travel?
Photo: Eric Piermont/AFP

Since June 9th 2021, France has been operating a traffic light system, which divides countries into risk zones and imposes different rules depending on whether travellers are fully vaccinated or not.

You can read a full explanation of how the system works HERE.

Travellers from green zones can travel for any reason, while people travelling from orange and red zones can only travel for ‘non essential’ purposes such as tourism and family visits if they are fully vaccinated.

Countries are classified according to the health situation and the level of vaccination among the general population – and it is important to note that these classifications can change if the health situation deteriorates, the lists are regularly updated.

Here is the latest:

Green – all EU and Schengen zone countries as well as countries where the virus is not circulating widely – Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Japan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, Senegal, Taiwan, Uruguay, Vanuatu, South Africa, Angola, Argentina, the Bahamas, Bangladesh, Botswana, Benin, Bolivia, Canada, Les Comores, Djibouti, Eswatini, India, Iraq, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lesotho, Namibia, Oman, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Dominican Republic, St Kitts and Nevis, El Salvador, Zambia and Zimbabwe, the USA, Tunisia, Brazil, Belize, Bhutan, Myanmar, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Seychelles, Sudan, South Sudan, Timor, Tunisia. On March 31st, the UK was added to the green list.

Orange – everywhere else

Red – there are currently no countries on the red list

Member comments

  1. Chile – the name of a South American country
    Chili – the American spelling of the fruit of a capsicum plant


  2. Interesting that there are more certified cases in some EU nations than in several of the Scarlet designated nations.

  3. Countries are classified according to the health situation and the level of vaccination among the general population and presumably, if you have cancelled a submarine contract.

  4. The U.K. did not cancel any submarine contract with France;Australia did,so keeping it on the orange list sounds well a bit “fishy” to me.I thought Macron sees himself as a great statesman but here he is acting more like my 4 year old!

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.


Covid face mask rule on flights in Europe set to be eased

The mandatory EU-wide mask requirement for air travel is set to be dropped from Monday, May 16th, but airlines may still require passengers to wear masks on some or all flights

Covid face mask rule on flights in Europe set to be eased

Europe-wide facemask rules on flights are set to be ditched as early as next week in light of new recommendations from health and air safety experts.

The European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) dropped recommendations for mandatory mask-wearing in airports and during flights in updated Covid-19 safety measures for travel issued on Wednesday, May 11th.

The new rules are expected to be rolled out from Monday, May 16th, but airlines may still continue to require the wearing of masks on some or all of flights. And the updated health safety measures still say that wearing a face mask remains one of the best ways to protect against the transmission of the virus.

The joint EASA/ECDC statement reminded travellers that masks may still be required on flights to destinations in certain countries that still require the wearing of masks on public transport and in transport hubs.

It also recommends that vulnerable passengers should continue to wear a face mask regardless of the rules, ideally an FFP2/N95/KN95 type mask which offers a higher level of protection than a standard surgical mask.

“From next week, face masks will no longer need to be mandatory in air travel in all cases, broadly aligning with the changing requirements of national authorities across Europe for public transport,” EASA executive director Patrick Ky said in the statement. 

“For passengers and air crews, this is a big step forward in the normalisation of air travel. Passengers should however behave responsibly and respect the choices of others around them. And a passenger who is coughing and sneezing should strongly consider wearing a face mask, for the reassurance of those seated nearby.”  

ECDC director Andrea Ammon added: “The development and continuous updates to the Aviation Health Safety Protocol in light of the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic have given travellers and aviation personnel better knowledge of the risks of transmission of SARS-CoV-2 and its variants. 

“While risks do remain, we have seen that non-pharmaceutical interventions and vaccines have allowed our lives to begin to return to normal. 

“While mandatory mask-wearing in all situations is no longer recommended, it is important to be mindful that together with physical distancing and good hand hygiene it is one of the best methods of reducing transmission. 

“The rules and requirements of departure and destination states should be respected and applied consistently, and travel operators should take care to inform passengers of any required measures in a timely manner.”