Switzerland to impose quarantine on travellers from south-eastern France

The Local France
The Local France - [email protected]
Switzerland to impose quarantine on travellers from south-eastern France

Anyone travelling to Switzerland from the south-eastern French region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur will soon be required to self-quarantine.


Starting from February 1st, travellers from the following areas will be required to self-quarantine for 10 days after arriving in Switzerland: 


Land Salzburg


Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region


Land Thüringen


Regione Emilia Romagna
Regione Friuli Venezia Giulia

Switzerland imposes the quarantine requirement only on certain areas of bordering nations rather than on entire countries.

The reason is “the close economic, social and cultural ties that exist with neighbouring countries. The incidence of infections is examined in individual areas rather than in the country as a whole”, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) said. 


Similar exemptions are not extended to nations that don’t share a border with Switzerland.

Ten countries - Cyprus, Estonia, Israel, Latvia, Lebanon, Malta, Monaco, Portugal, Slovakia, and Spain - will also be placed on the quarantine list from February 1st.

Meanwhile, Brazil was added to the list on January 21st, while Croatia, Denmark, Georgia, Luxemburg, and Serbia were removed from it.

Quarantine is compulsory for people arriving from countries and regions where the incidence of infections exceeds Switzerland’s, which currently is just over 374 cases per 100,000 inhabitants.

What exactly does a quarantine entail?

You must announce your arrival to health authorities in your canton of residence within 48 hours.

You must then stay in your home or another suitable accommodation for 10 days, without going out or receiving guests.

READ MORE: EXPLAINED: What are Switzerland's quarantine rules? 

Anyone who doesn’t comply could be fined up to 10,000 francs.

Also note that a negative Covid test doesn’t exempt you from having to quarantine.

However, some travellers are exempted from the requirement - for example those who are coming to Switzerland for an important work reason that can’t be cancelled or rescheduled, individuals travelling for an important medical reason that can’t be postponed, and transit passengers who have spent less than 24 hours in a country or area with an increased risk of infection.

As the epidemiological situation around the world is constantly changing, the list is updated every 14 days.



Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also