The 10 French départements facing earlier curfew due to Covid-19 spike

The French prime minister announced on Thursday that 10 more départments in France face having a 6pm - 6am curfew imposed due to rising Covid-19 infections.

The 10 French départements facing earlier curfew due to Covid-19 spike
French police check members of the public during a nighttime curfew in France. AFP

France is subject to a nationwide nighttime curfew from 8pm until 6am, however in 15 départements with higher Covid-19 rates the curfew starts at 6pm.

In a press conference on Thursday evening Prime Minister Jean Castex announced that the government could extend the earlier curfew to 10 more départements, after consultation with local authorities.

A recent rise in Covid-19 infections means “we have identified 10 more départements, mostly in the east of France, where where we are considering imposing the earlier curfew,” said the PM.

According to reports in French media the 10 départements are: Haut-Rhin, Bas Rhin and Haute-Savoie in the east, Côte d'Or, Yonne, Cher and Allier in central-eastern France and Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Vaucluse and Bouches-du-Rhône in the south east.

In each of these départements the infection rate has risen above 200 cases per 100,000 inhabitants.

The stricter curfew could be imposed on Sunday after talks with local officials, the PM said.

Under the rules of the curfew people must remain home and can only be outside their homes for essential reasons such returning from work or health emergencies.

A final decision will be taken on Friday.

The 15 départements which are already subject to an earlier curfew are:

Hautes-Alpes, Alpes-Maritimes, Doubs, Ardennes, Jura, Marne, Haute-Marne, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Meuse, Haute-Saône, Vosges, Territoire de Belfort, Moselle, Nièvre and Saône-et-Loire.

Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.


France’s monkeypox count rises to 277 as first woman contracts virus

France has detected 277 cases of monkeypox, health authorities said Tuesday, June 21st, including the first case in the country of a woman contracting the virus.

France's monkeypox count rises to 277 as first woman contracts virus

The case numbers have risen steeply since the last official figure of 183 cases five days earlier. But there have been no deaths in France attributed to monkeypox.

The normal initial symptoms of monkeypox include a high fever, swollen lymph nodes and a blistery chickenpox-like rash.

Until recently, the viral disease had generally been confined to Western and Central Africa but is now present in several continents, particularly Europe.

Among the latest cases recorded in France, “a first female case has been confirmed, the mode of transmission of which is currently being investigated, and all the others are men,” the French national public health agency said in a statement.

So far, the recent outbreak of monkeypox, which is currently affecting some 40 countries, has mainly affected men who have engaged in gay sex.

The World Health Organization is due to hold an emergency meeting on Thursday to determine whether to classify the global monkeypox outbreak as a public health emergency of international concern.

The virus usually clears up after two or three weeks.

Most of the cases identified in France have been found in Paris and its suburbs, though smaller outbreaks have been seen in several regions throughout the country, including Normandy in the north and the Cote d’Azur in the south.

The first monkeypox case in France was discovered on May 20, the same day the virus was detected in neighbouring Germany.