• France's news in English
Tour de France stage 17: Froome stretches lead
Tour de France leader Chris Froome. Photo: Jeff Pachoud/AFP

Tour de France stage 17: Froome stretches lead

Dan MacGuill · 17 Jul 2013, 17:31

Published: 17 Jul 2013 17:31 GMT+02:00

Facebook Twitter Google+ reddit

Britain's Chris Froome of Team Sky tightened his grip on the Tour de France yellow jersey after winning the 17th stage time trial on Wednesday.

Froome, taking his third stage win of the 100th edition, finished the hilly 32 km race against the clock in a time of 51min 33sec to beat Spanish rival Alberto Contador by nine seconds.

Saxo team leader Contador's time of 51:42 looked good enough to give the Spaniard his first stage win of this year's race but in the end it served only to move him up to second overall at 4:34 behind Froome.

But after Froome swapped his bike for a time trial machine just befor the summit of the Cote de Reallon, the Briton powered over the remaining 12 kilometres to overhaul the 11-sec deficit he had to Contador at the summit.

Asked if he thought that made the difference, Froome said: "That was our strategy, but it was more about the gearing. It allowed me to go faster on the second half of the course and I think it was the right choice."

After stepping off the podium, where he made three visits for the stage win, the yellow jersey and the best climber's polka dot jersey, Froome said his win was unexpected.

"Visiting the podium three times was just incredible," said Froome, who was supported along the route by many fans waiving British flags.

"I'm really happy with the result from today. I wanted to hold back a little bit for the days ahead and I was actually prepared to lose a little bit of time, so I'm quite surprised I won the stage."

Coupled with the threat of rain for the late starters, many riders faced the dilemma of deciding whether to swap their habitual road race bikes for time trial machines at the summit of the day's final climb, which was followed by a far less technical descent than the descent of the Puy-Sanieres climb at the 25.5 km mark.

Contador was one of the few favourites who opted to use his normal bike, albeit with aero bars fitted to the handlebars.

His team mate Roman Kreuziger finished the stage 23sec adrift of Froome, moving the Czech up to third at 4:51 overall as Dutchman Mollema flattered to deceive in a discipline known as the 'race of truth'.

Mollema was in second overall overnight at 4:14, having revived hopes in his native Holland of a rare podium finish in Paris.

However the Belkin team leader struggled to match the leading contenders.

After narrowly escaping a crash on the final bend, barging into the barriers after badly negotiating a right-hand bend, Mollema came over the finish 2:09 behind Froome.

Story continues below…

Spaniard Joaquim Rodriguez of Katusha finished third on the stage at 10secs behind Froome and one behind Contador while another strong climber, Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) was fifth at 30secs off the winning pace.

The 18th stage on Thursday is a 172.5 km race beginning in Gap and featuring six climbs, including two ascensions of the legendary Alpe d'Huez, which will also host the finish.

CLICK HERE for Top Ten most spectacular sites on the 2013 Tour de France

Full report to follow

Overall standings after the 17th stage of the Tour de France, a 32.0km time trial from Embrun to Chorges on Wednesday:

   1. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 66hr 07min 09sec
   2. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) at 4:34.
   3. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/SAX) 4:51.
   4. Bauke Mollema (NED/BKN) 6:23.
   5. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 6:58.
   6. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 7:21.
   7. Laurens ten Dam (NED/BKN) 8:23.
   8. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 8:56.
   9. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 11:10.
   10. Daniel Martin (IRL/GRM) 12:50.
   11. Michael Rogers (AUS/SAX) 13:19.
   12. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 15:12.
   13. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 15:13.
   14. Daniel Navarro (ESP/COF) 16:43.
   15. Maxime Monfort (BEL/RSH) 17:04.
   16. Andy Schleck (LUX/RSH) 23:34.
   17. Mikel Nieve (ESP/EUS) 23:36.
   18. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 24:44.
   19. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 27:35.
   20. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 28:43.

Dan MacGuill (dan.macguill@thelocal.com)

Facebook Twitter Google+ reddit

Your comments about this article

Today's headlines
France poised to send bulldozers into Calais Jungle
Photo: AFP

As hundreds of migrants leave, the bulldozers are set to tear down the sprawling Calais shanty town on Tuesday.

UK to spend €40 million on securing Calais border
Photo: AFP

Britain spending big on security in Calais.

Millionaire Riviera hotel boss kidnapped in broad daylight
The city of Nice where the millionaire was bundled into a car infront of shocked onlookers. Photo: AFP

The millionaire head of a luxury hotel in the French Riviera resort of Cannes was kidnapped in front of shocked onlookers in the middle of the day on Monday.

Where exactly in France are Calais migrants being sent?
Photo: AFP

Here's where the 8,000 migrants in Calais are heading.

The annoying questions only a half French, half British person can answer
Photo: Beery/Flickr/AFP

Being half French, half British is means you get asked a lot of questions (and some of them can be a little annoying.)

Migrants bussed out of Calais Jungle to all corners of France
All photos: AFP

Hundreds of migrants are being bussed across France on Monday ahead of the demolition of the Jungle camp.

The must-see French films of the millennium - Part One
A Prophet. Photo: YouTube Screengrab

Looking for something to watch?

The must-see French films of the millennium - Part Two
Rust and Bone. Photo: YouTube Screengrab

The newest French films you need to see before you die (or alternatively when you get some spare time).

Election Watch
Presidential hopeful reckons a pain au chocolat is 10 cents

So France happily takes the pastry out of him.

French ministry of defence officials die in plane crash
Screengrab: eddydeg/Twitter

The French Ministry of Defence officials were killed on Monday when a light aircraft went down on the island of Malta.

The annoying questions only a half French, half Brit can answer
Sponsored Article
Last chance to vote absentee in the US elections
Forget Brangelina's chateau - here are nine others you've got to see
The must-see French films of the millennium - Part One
How life for expats in France has changed over the years
Why Toulouse is THE place to be in France right now
Video: New homage to Paris shows the 'real side' of city
The 'most dangerous' animals you can find in France
Swap London fogs for Paris frogs: France woos the Brits
Anger after presenter kisses woman's breasts on live TV
Is France finally set for a cold winter this year?
IN PICS: The story of the 'ghost Metro stations' of Paris
How to make France's 'most-loved' dish: Magret de Canard
Welcome to the flipside: 'I'm not living the dream in France'
Do the French really still eat frogs' legs?
French 'delicacies' foreigners really find hard to stomach
French are the 'world's most pessimistic' about the future
Why the French should not be gloomy about the future
This is the most useful French lesson you will ever have. How to get angry
Why is there a giant clitoris in a field in southern France?
French pastry wars: Pain au chocolat versus chocolatine
Countdown: The ten dishes the French love the most
Expats or immigrants in France: Is there a difference?
How the French reinvented dozens of English words
jobs available